Europe · Italy

Oh, Tuscany!

It was one of those ‘I can’t believe I’m here’ moments. The Tuscan countryside is so beautiful!

 I’m grateful that…

…I saw rolling landscapes where sunflowers bowed down and grapes looked up the sky

…I admired hilltops lined with beautiful cypress trees

…I stared at red-tiled roofs that made everything more charming

…I walked within walled San Gimignano, a beautiful medieval hill town

…I tasted the best wines of Chianti and enjoyed a Tuscan lunch

…I visited sunny Siena where everything looked so dainty in yellow and brown

…marvelled at beautiful churches (I don’t like museums but I LOVE churches!)

…I people watched at Siena’s Piazza del Campo

…I watched the sunset from Monterrigioni

…I ended the day with a happy dinner with new friends

My friends and I took a day trip from Florence to explore the Tuscan countryside and three of its beautiful areas: San Gimignano, Chianti, city of Siena and Monteriggioni.
My friends and I took a day trip from Florence to explore the Tuscan countryside and four of its beautiful areas: San Gimignano, Chianti, Siena, and Monteriggioni.
Views from San Gimignano, the famous walled medieval hilltown in the Tuscan region of Italy.
Views from San Gimignano, the famous walled medieval hilltown in the Tuscan region of Italy.

We tasted different kinds of wine and ate a delicious Tuscan lunch in Chianti, the famous wine region in Tuscany.
We tasted different kinds of wine and ate a delicious Tuscan lunch in Chianti, the famous wine region in Tuscany.
Siena is a city in Tuscany. I loved Siena's yellow, brown and green hues!
Siena is a city in Tuscany. I loved Siena’s yellow, brown and green hues!

This is Piazza del Campo, the main public space in Siena and regarded as one of the greatest medieval squares in Europe. This is also where the famous Palio di Siena, a horse race held twice a year, is held.

This is Piazza del Campo, the main public space in Siena and regarded as one of the greatest medieval squares in Europe. This is also where the famous Palio di Siena, a horse race held twice a year, is held.

We ended our trip in Monteriggioni, a commune in Siena with a beautiful medieval fortress.

We ended our trip in Monteriggioni, a commune in Siena with a beautiful medieval fortress.

Travel: October 2013

