Europe · Italy

Verona’s famous lovers

If you allow yourself to believe in Romeo + Juliet for just a little while, then your stay in Verona can be as magical as mine.

I rubbed Juliet’s right boob for good luck, wrote her a note just like every lass does.

Read the letters to Juliet; from her balcony, down I looked.

Climbed lovely Castelvecchio, took in amazing view from the top.

Strutted my boots, roamed the Arena where gladiators once fought.

Left in awe, oh I was! Churches so beautiful, thought I heard cherubs during Mass.

Visited flea market, my fancy tickled by things old and new.

‘People watched’ here and there, in Bra and Erbe, I found the perfect spot.

Ate my first gelato in Italy, so delicious I had to have some more.

Night fell and the moon beamed, I sipped wine, laughed with the Veronese.

That is the tale of my visit to little Verona, the romantic town of literature’s most famous star-crossed lovers.

Every year, thousands flock to Casa di Giulieta to see the balcony where Juliet stood. Never underestimate the power of Shakespeare's imagination!
Every year, thousands flock to Casa di Giulieta to see the balcony where Juliet stood. Never underestimate the power of Shakespeare’s imagination!
Remember, rub Juliet's right boob for good luck! The notes to Juliet only look sweet from afar. Come closer and you'll see a wall full of old, chewed gum. :$
Remember, rub Juliet’s right boob for good luck! The notes to Juliet only look sweet from afar. Come closer and you’ll see a wall full of old, chewed gum. :$
The medieval Castelvecchio
The medieval Castelvecchio
Today, Verona Arena is famous for the world-class opera performances staged here.
Today, Verona Arena is famous for the world-class opera performances staged here.
I visited many churches in Europe but I remember Verona's Chiesa di Santa Anastasia the most. The ceiling glowed and the statues seemed alive.
I visited many churches in Europe but I remember Verona’s Chiesa di Santa Anastasia the most. The ceiling glowed and the statues seemed alive.
A flea market is like a box of chocolates. You'll never know what you'll get!
A flea market is like a box of chocolates. You’ll never know what you’ll get!
Spotted in Piazza Erbe. How do they do that?!
Spotted in Piazza Erbe. How do they do that?!
Ah, gelato and prosecco!
Ah, gelato and prosecco!
Verona's empty streets at night
Verona’s empty streets at night.

Travel: October 2013

3 thoughts on “Verona’s famous lovers

Leave a Reply

