Europe · Italy

Holy Milan!

If Manila had a posh and elitist cousin, it would be Milan. Both cities are branded with extremes of wealth and poverty, peace and chaos. Both are also brimming with oxymorons: pretty ugly, pauper chic, saintly evil, open secret, living dead. It’s either you love  them or hate them.

I had just come from Greece this morning and was supposed to catch a train in Milan but I missed it. Maybe it was a good thing because I enjoyed sitting on the steps of the Milan Cathedral (Duomo) just eating, ‘people watching’ and walking around to take photos. But I also held on to my bag tight because there are a lot of gypsies and thieves throughout the city.

As I ate my last cup of gelato, it was finally time to say goodbye to Italy. I then hopped on to what could be the most expensive train ride of my life. Switzerland was waiting.

Travel: October 2013

Leave a Reply

