Czech Republic · Europe

10 things I learned about Prague

I visited the revered 16th century Infant Jesus, feasted on goulash and took absinthe shots. 

Only in PRAGUE. Home of the thousand spires and Bohemian kings.

At the 600-year-old Charles Bridge, the silhouettes of the stone statues hovered like ghosts at dawn. The view was so picturesque, that by the time I explored Prague’s cobblestone mazes and Old Town Square, I decided to give this city another chance.

Let me share 10 things I learned about Prague:
10. It’s so cheap compared to other European cities, that it crossed my mind to live there!

After visiting more expensive cities in Europe, I was delighted when Prague gave me more bang for my buck.
After visiting more expensive cities in Europe, I was delighted when Prague gave me more bang for my buck.

9. Unlike in other cities, you don’t need to pay to pee in Prague. 

Well, thank you! No need to pay 50 cents or 1 Euro everytime I needed to pee (Italy, I'm talking to ya!)
Well, thank you! No need to pay 50 cents or 1 Euro everytime I needed to pee (Italy, I’m talking to ya!)

8. I can live on Prague’s famous goulash and dumplings and never attempt to be a vegetarian again. (I fail every time anyway!)

Ok, it doesn't look appetizing here but it tasted so good!
Ok, it doesn’t look appetizing here but it tasted so good!

7. When in Prague, follow tradition: absinthe shot and the famous Czech beer!

6. Defenestration (throwing people out of windows) is something new I learned about Prague’s history.

The term originates from two incidents in history, both occurring in Prague. In 1419, seven town officials were thrown from the Town Hall, precipitating the Hussite War. In 1618, two Imperial governors and their secretary were tossed from Prague Castle, sparking the Thirty Years War. These incidents, particularly in 1618, were referred to as the Defenestrations of Prague and gave rise to the term and the concept. (Wikipedia) Photo courtesy: http://humanitiesmentor.hubpages.com/
The term originates from two incidents in history, both occurring in Prague. In 1419, seven town officials were thrown from the Town Hall, precipitating the Hussite War. In 1618, two Imperial governors and their secretary were tossed from Prague Castle, sparking the Thirty Years War. These incidents, particularly in 1618, were referred to as the Defenestrations of Prague and gave rise to the term and the concept. (Wikipedia)
Photo courtesy: http://humanitiesmentor.hubpages.com/

5. There’s a spot in one of the courtyards at the Prague Castle that shows ‘medieval acoustics’ at its best. Just stand on the exact spot with your chin up, speak, and you’ll hear your voice echo in the most awesome way.

4. For Filipinos and/or Catholics, visit the Church of our Lady Victorious, home of the Infant Jesus of Prague (this is like our Sto. Niño in Cebu). I heard mass in Czech and was later approached by the priest who gave me a blessing and lots of prayer cards.

3. There’s a John Lennon Wall but he never actually visited Prague in his lifetime. Who cares, just pose and take photos!

2. Charles Bridge and its views are most beautiful at dawn when it’s empty (I call it ‘naked Prague‘). It’s also the best time to rub whatever you need to rub there for wishes and good luck.

Charles Bridge without a soul in sight.
Charles Bridge without a soul in sight.

1. I didn’t know Prague has a crazy nightlife until I went there. Whether it’s a pub crawl or a jazz blues night, just do it! I did and it was so much fun, that it rivals a fun night in Amsterdam!

Travel: October 2013

Leave a Reply

