Asia · Palawan · Philippines

Diving, shipwrecks and being in awe

I had an amazing day. It started when I stood in front of the boat, excited to get into the water. Then I put on the wet suit and couldn’t wait to dive. By the time the day ended, I was ecstatic.

Why wouldn’t I be? Today, we dove as deep as 107 feet. We explored sunken shipwrecks here in Coron – went through big rooms, slithered through tiny openings.

It was completely dark in some rooms but with a flashlight, I felt like a sleuth waiting to discover treasure or empty cupboards or a watch tower where the Captain once stood.

Do you know what I found instead? A human jaw and some bones. I wonder what he or she was doing at that exact moment when the Americans dropped the bomb on the ship in 1944. We’ll never know.

Then as we were ascending to go back to the boat, schools of fish -thousands of them which looked like bees in the ocean – formed tornado-like balls and swam in the current. They moved, snapped and turned all at the same time, as if an invisible force synced them. It was the first time I had seen anything like it and it was so beautiful.

Tomorrow is another day and I can’t wait to be in awe again.

Location: Coron, Palawan, Philippines

Travel: Feb – Mar 2014

Leave a Reply

